[S/lay] Fear of Death Crystallized

Started by Eero Tuovinen, August 02, 2013, 03:41:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Eero Tuovinen

We played more S/lay today with Tommi, making it the first "second session" with the same person in the series. Here are the past reports:
In the Refugium (with Tommi)
The Tulpa (with Peitsa)
The Red Desert of the Mad Lord (with Sami)

This time Tommi was "I" and I was "You". I could have played Musa Legi, my erstwhile and embittered cavalry captain from the session with Sami, but because we had been swinging the prehistorical sensibilities with Tommi last session, I instead opted to create a new character in that spirit. I rather like the outcome:

Quote from: MaruI am myself. I am canny, brutal, experienced. I laugh at the gods. I delight in life. My foes meet death swiftly. I am an escaped apprentice, defiant and scorned, but armed with the weapon I invented. I am sullen, dirty, small of stature, sinewy, wild-eyed, bare-footed and timid. I am come to the Crystal Court, whose queen remains unknown, hopeless and seeking sanctuary, ambitious for a position of respect.

That doesn't sound much to begin with, but I liked the backstory that Maru developed, as well as his personality - he proved to be sort of a luggage-size teenage Conan, complete with philosophical soliloquys about good living. A combination of headstrong and clueless, but with plenty of heart, if you will.

What I knew about him to start with: Maru had escaped from "Ur, the city of slaves", where he had been apprentice/slave to a cruel master of the Brassmen's Guild, the shadowy organization that controlled metalworking in Ur. He took with him the kusarigama of his own invention, a weapon strange and unnatural to the world.