The Forge Archives

Independent Game Forums => Adept Press => Topic started by: sirogit on April 19, 2004, 02:45:58 AM

Title: Humanity gain for summoning demons?
Post by: sirogit on April 19, 2004, 02:45:58 AM
I'm abit conflicted over the answer to this question:

1. If someone summons a demon for the purposes of performing a task that equals Humanity Gain, could they get a humanity gain roll for the choice to summon the demon?

My initial judgement is "No, you should get a Humanity gain roll when you actually do this action." But, my reaction to that is that actually summoning the demons is much more the Humanity relevant action, as it puts the Sorcerer at a dire risk for what he wants to do, and after he has summoned it he has already commited to it and isn't making as much of a choice when he uses the demon for the Humanity gaining behavior.

How would you handle the situation?
Title: Humanity gain for summoning demons?
Post by: Lxndr on April 19, 2004, 02:56:07 AM
I would give a humanity loss roll for the summoning, and the gain when you actually follow through with the humanity-raising action, whatever it might be.  For most definitions of humanity, intent is meaningless, it's action (not even the result of the action, just the action itself) that is important.
Title: Humanity gain for summoning demons?
Post by: Ron Edwards on April 19, 2004, 03:11:10 AM
Hello,

Quote1. If someone summons a demon for the purposes of performing a task that equals Humanity Gain, could they get a humanity gain roll for the choice to summon the demon?

My initial judgement is "No, you should get a Humanity gain roll when you actually do this action." But, my reaction to that is that actually summoning the demons is much more the Humanity relevant action, as it puts the Sorcerer at a dire risk for what he wants to do ...

That second reaction is, I'm afraid, lawyer bullshit. If he Summons the demon, he Summons it. Humanity is at risk. Furthermore, he has not done the action that you say merits a Humanity gain. I don't care if you amend that with a "yet" or not. He hasn't done it.

A character does not get Humanity gain rolls or, for that matter, Humanity checks, for actions he has not performed.

Best,
Ron
Title: Humanity gain for summoning demons?
Post by: sirogit on April 19, 2004, 05:14:53 AM
That makes sense to me. Thanks.
Title: Humanity gain for summoning demons?
Post by: Mike Holmes on April 20, 2004, 10:13:24 PM
I just had to add: the road to hell is paved with good intentions. :-)

Mike