The Forge Archives

Independent Game Forums => Dog Eared Designs => Topic started by: Darren Hill on August 11, 2005, 08:35:44 PM

Title: Using Traits
Post by: Darren Hill on August 11, 2005, 08:35:44 PM
Can a single player, in a single conflict, use multiple Traits.
Example: if the player could someho justify it, could Nate Spisak use both of his Trained Paramedic and Underworld Knowledge edges, as well as a connection or two, all on the same conflict roll?
Title: Re: Using Traits
Post by: Eero Tuovinen on August 11, 2005, 08:50:07 PM
The book's out there somewhere, but I don't need it to say that I never noticed any limitation. Where'd you get the idea?
Title: Re: Using Traits
Post by: Darren Hill on August 11, 2005, 08:54:19 PM
Basically, because I couldn't find one and wanted to make sure I hadn't missed it.
It was natural for me after reading: "you can use a Trait a number of times equal to Screen Presence" to then ask "but can you use them together?" Blame other games if you like. :)
I know there isn't one for fan mail, so I assume there isn't one - just looking for confirmation.
Title: Re: Using Traits
Post by: Matt Wilson on August 12, 2005, 12:33:26 AM
Darren:

Yes! Totally you can. Sorry that wasn't clearer.
Title: Re: Using Traits
Post by: Darren Hill on August 12, 2005, 09:04:42 AM
Thanks :)
Title: Re: Using Traits
Post by: Darren Hill on August 15, 2005, 12:23:29 AM
A related question: when you create a Scene on your Personal Set, you can uncheck a Trait.
* Can you do this more than once a session?
* If other players (or the Producer) create a scene in your personal set, do you get the benefit?
Title: Re: Using Traits
Post by: Matt Wilson on August 15, 2005, 01:31:33 PM
QuoteCan you do this more than once a session?

I'd say yes you can, but if you kept going back to your set scene after scene, the other players might question your coolness as a player.

QuoteIf other players (or the Producer) create a scene in your personal set, do you get the benefit?

If your character is present, yes. Otherwise no.
Title: Re: Using Traits
Post by: Darren Hill on August 21, 2005, 10:02:09 PM
Yet Another related question :)
You can use Fan Mail to assist other players when your protagonist is not in the Scene. Can you mark off a use of a Connection to do the same - having your Connection turn up and provide assistance (or hindrance), and roll a die just like Fan Mail?
Title: Re: Using Traits
Post by: Matt Wilson on August 23, 2005, 01:00:13 AM
Quote from: Darren Hill on August 21, 2005, 10:02:09 PM
Yet Another related question :)
You can use Fan Mail to assist other players when your protagonist is not in the Scene. Can you mark off a use of a Connection to do the same - having your Connection turn up and provide assistance (or hindrance), and roll a die just like Fan Mail?

Well, I can't actually stop you. Not from way over here. But the rules say no.

You can spend fan mail and suggest that it's your protagonist's connection providing the assistance, but you can only apply traits if your protagonist is in the scene.