The Forge Archives

Independent Game Forums => one.seven design => Topic started by: Banesfinger on February 27, 2007, 01:25:28 PM



Title: Armor?
Post by: Banesfinger on February 27, 2007, 01:25:28 PM
A question on how Armor works:

Page 58 states: "...If you’re hit, you may roll your armor die. 4+ on armor = no damage taken..."

Page 59 states: "...1 wound per victory of attack roll..."

Question:  If the attacker had 2 or more victories, does a successful (4+) armor roll stop all victories from causing damage?  Or does this just stop a single (1) wound from getting through?

For example, using the battle on page 54-55, had the Boar been successful on it's armor roll (rolled a '6' on d10, with -2 penalty to its armor roll = 4), would the boar's armor (tough hide) stop both (2) of Aleta's wounds?

Assuming that Armor stops all-or-nothing, this can be a very important roll (especially against a hit with multiple victories).  I would expect everyone would attempt to use a Creative Ability on this roll (FAQ stated you may use this in combat).  Could you get away with Creative Abilities for:

Insight or Grace: attempt to manoeuvre your body so most armor is facing/block opponent's weapon.
Might: put your armor on tighter, or used metalsmithing to forge a better suit of armor.
Orate or Lore: found the best armor/material in the local market.
Etc - many other ideas.

Could you use a different Creative Ability each time you got hit and attempted an armor roll (e.g., Insight 1st hit, Might 2nd hit, etc)?

Thoughts?



Title: Re: Armor?
Post by: John Harper on February 27, 2007, 01:38:13 PM
I love good questions.

A successful armor roll stops all wounds from that attack. After a successful use, the armor die is impaired.

And yes, you can you use Creative Abilities on an armor roll.

EDIT: No, you can't. I don't know what I was thinking here. You cannot use creative abilities on armor rolls.