News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Convention Dreams and the Indie Designer

Started by Dregg, March 03, 2004, 08:11:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dregg

I was speaking with the Chair of one of the 3 major NJ Conventions and a good point was brought up. I am posting this thread, as basicaly a Info gathering for Con Chairs to get Ideas of what us as Indie Desigers need.

Alot of Cons are reaching out to the Indie Designer. Why? Well unlike our Major Company bretheren, we are easily more recpetive to coming to cons, we run our own stuff, and we are enthuiastic about our product.
For Example if anyone has seen the energy Burning Wheels Abzu puts into his appearances, man you would want him to do demos at your house.

So on that note. Being a Gaming Coordinator/Indie Designer myself and knowing that other coordinators have a great interest in Indie gaming at thier conventions...

What would be the things you would like to see done for Indie Gamers and companies at conventions?
* Free Fan Tables
* Listed As Guests
* Have Special Indie Tracks made up
* Given Hospitalities
* Have a special Industry Party thrown
* Given a Dealers table

I know I-CON and Wild Gazebo are doing some cool stuff for Indie Gaming Programming, specificly focused on promoting the Indie Designers and Double Exposure is more than showing interest as well.

Our time has more than come within the Industry...
Lets get some want lists, I know alot of us coordinators are standing by and taking notes.
J. Carpio "Dregg"
Gaming Coordinator I-CON (iconsf.org)
Chapter 13 Press co founder(www.chapter13press.com)
Column Writer "Lights, Camera, Action!" (silven.com)

Matt Gwinn