News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

No combat pool with initative

Started by Dan Sellars, March 01, 2004, 09:36:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dan Sellars

Hello All,

I had a situation I didn't know how to resolve at the weekend.  

Character A attacked character B with all his dice pool, charcter B defenced with All but 1 dice.  The result was a draw, which I think would normally mean that A still had initative.  However B still has one dice left.  I ruled that he could attack with that one dice (is this correct?).

He then missed.  Who has initative in the next round? As B performed the last attack but missed, yet A was passive in that attack so didn't 'steal' initaitve.  Or does A have initative as he 'won' the last exchange they were both part of?

Cheers,
Dan.

nsruf

I'm still a newbie here but I think I can answer that: it has been clarified (and may even be in the rules) that in case only one combatant has dice on the second exchange, he automatically gets initiative. Also, if the attacker and defender both get no successes, this is still a draw and initiative remains with the attacker as usual. So I'd say B has the initiative on the next round.
Niko Ruf

Valamir

That's correct.  Attacking with all dice in the first exchange is generally a bad idea.  Always keep at least 1 die back in order to keep the initiative if you win.  Otherwise, even if you win the attack, if you didn't inflict enough shock to completely deplete the defender's pool, the defender gets the initiative from you for the simple reason of you being out of dice.

Dan Sellars

Thanks,

Thats what I was thinking myself but wasn't sure.

Dan.

Richard_Strey

Now I have a question myself. Just for clarification, so here goes: