News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Looking for a system that I hope exists

Started by myripad, March 29, 2004, 12:08:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

myripad

I'm pretty sure that this is the forum where I should be posting this, and I know how concerned most of you are about cross-posting, so I'll only put this here. If this is the wrong place, please re-direct me.

Like so many people, I got into roleplaying games through AD&D second edition. I started playing about 6 or 7 years ago, and I've DMed campaigns almost exclusively. I've only acted as a player in one or two, and even then I was more of a guest than anything. As such, I have a very limited understanding of what it is like to run a single character within a game. However, I seem to have managed all right, as players tend to like the games that I run and continually request new campaigns when older ones peter out, etc.

Now, about 2 years ago, after 5  years of playing AD&D 2e almost exclusively, I decided that the system was broken (which it probably is). I was already running games that were so full of house rules that the system only barely resembled AD&D. I made the leap from 2e to a fairly sketchy homebrew system after a several month long hiatus. All of the campaigns I've played with the homebrew system have been good but short -- the longest one lasted perhaps a dozen sessions, the shortest being a single night of play. The campaigns were cut-off prematurely for reasons beyond my control.

Next week, I'm starting a new campaign, and of course I've decided that it will be the best campaign I've ever run. There are two things that make it different than anything else I've done: