News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Anybody experimented with a GM add-on?

Started by komradebob, April 02, 2004, 09:37:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

komradebob

I'm really new to Uni, and come from a more oldfashioned GM+Players style of play. I bought a copy of Uni because I wanted to see how a more open style of gaming, where all players took part in the adventure/world creation, might work.

However...

There is a part of me that is still kinda stuck on the idea of one person at least throwing forward some sort of basic skeleton of a game setting, Probably comes from years of being that person, more than one of the character players.

Has anyone experimented with a play style where one person in the group has a little bit more imput initially? Say, allowing more of a "setting creator" role to a given player by allowing them to introduce multiple tenets during their turn during game preparation?

Basically, I'm looking for suggestions for tenets or metagame styles that allow for someone to give some early direction to a game of Uni, but not destroy the ability of everyone to participate in adventure narration. Does that make sense?

Robert
Robert Earley-Clark

currently developing:The Village Game:Family storytelling with toys

Bob McNamee

Its certainly possible to do a game where the first Tenet is made by the 'GM'.

Something like

Tenet: The game is set in the Greyhawk in Blackmoor

That tenet will come with all the baggage the comes with the region

while a Tenet like
Tenet: Set in the Matrix...where Neo never survived (movie 1), but the other crewmembers partake of his power.

would suggest a very different game