News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[D&D] Why I Like Metagaming

Started by Tav_Behemoth, May 12, 2004, 07:30:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tav_Behemoth

A disclaimer:
I'm not fully up to speed with the Forge theoretical framework yet, and I may omit or misuse the appropriate terms of art. I hope to learn by doing & appreciate corrections and instruction!

Some relevant history:
I started playing D&D in 1980, when I was 10, and had more-or-less stopped by 1985 (and near the end of this time Call of Cthulu had been the system we played with the most interest). Only one of my gaming friendships from this time survived high school, and he and I would occasionally get together some one-on-one play, the most memorable of which were set in Leiber's Lankhmar.

I set out to get involved in RPGs again in 1993 by answering ads for games in Chicago area stores. Many of the ones that I checked out were D&D, but the group that I joined was playing Ars Magica. Part of the attraction was System-Does-Matter; the way that developing a character's investment in the various magical nouns and verbs has a direct effect on the sort of personality that character will develop through gameplay alone impressed me greatly.

The other thing I really liked about Ars is that its fantasy elements were played off against a hard historical background: as a fan of Tim Powers' novels using this technique, I enjoyed the way our saga created the "secret history" of the 990's. More than that, though, I liked the way that everything you could learn from any external source was valid material for the game, so that every player could have the pleasure of digging into research and using it to enrich one's play. The more that a game's background is "soft" or subjective, the more this pleasure is restricted to the GM.