News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Mechanics weirdnesses

Started by ignatius, June 15, 2004, 03:17:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ignatius

Hey,

I'm pretty new to TROS. I really like a lot of the ideas behind it, but there are a few issues I've found with the mechanics, and I was wondering if any of the rest of you have found the same issues, or if I'm just misreading the book, or what.

I really like the magic system. I like that they made magic really powerful. I was thrilled, up until I read the section on magic and damage, which threw me for several loops.

The first: Magic does generic damage, and generic damage never causes bloodloss. So magic can never kill anyone. That just seems bizarre to me. The spell in the book, for instance, that causes the target's bone to grow spikes that protrude through the skin, can't inflict any bloodloss.

That doesn't make sense to me. But moreover, the formula for magic damage completely baffled me. It's dependent just on CTN and not spell effect. Why should complexity of the spell have anything to do with how damaging it is? I can think of a number of examples that show why this formula is wholly counterintuitive:

First of all, movement 3 can move something, with instantaneous acceleration, at light speed. I feel that it's pretty self-evident that a simple spell of 1 of movement 3 could kill someone in a number of ways, but simple spells of one don't do much damage by the formula. If I'm GMing a game of TROS, I'm unsure how I would explain to my players, "you send the cannonball hurtling into him at light speed, but it only does 4 damage," or, "you send him into the ground at light speed, but it's just a flesch wound."