News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[D&D] I need proactive protagonists...

Started by Andrew Cooper, June 23, 2004, 01:43:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andrew Cooper

I've got a nice little D&D game that has been running for 4 sessions now and I'm relatively pleased with how it is going.  The majority of my players are complete novices to role-playing and therein lies my only real frustration with the game.  They don't seem to want to take any proactive action in the game.  

Knowing that newbies sometimes need a little more focus, I've tried to keep the plot pretty tight, so that the game isn't too confusing with 13 different things going on at once.  The plan has been to slowly add more complication and conflict as the game progressed and they become more comfortable with the game.  The problem is that  if I don't force the issue, as a group they don't do anything.  This puts a rather large burden on me if I have to be the source of every single conflict and I have to drive every single plotline single-handedly.

I've got a bunch of NPCs and built-in conflicts and I've been waiting to see which direction they would like to pursue but they don't seem to pursue anything or do anything unless I drop some hostile monsters on top of them.  Then they just beat the monsters up and go back to doing nothing.  ("Monsters" as I'm using it here is meant to be any antagonist.  They aren't all literal monsters.)

Anyone have an practical advice and leading the players to be more proactive in developing the plotline?  It isn't that people are having fun but it'd be a lot less stress on me and a lot MORE fun if everyone participated in the game a bit more.

TonyLB

Can you give us an example of a specific type of proactive thing you want them to do?