News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Need? Desire?Huh?

Started by Zaidaco, October 01, 2004, 04:56:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zaidaco

Need and Desire are still giving me grief. The problem lays not so much in how they work (I feel that I have a fairly good grasp of that), but in thinking up appropriate ones.

For instance, in the last play session I Summoned up a new Object demon. It's fairly powerful and Contacting, Summoning, and Binding it nearly stripped me of all Humanity. I had one point by the end.

Cross \ Type: Object \ Need: Sorcerous Study \ Desire: Knowledge \ Telltale: Faint Glow
Stamina: 6 \ Will: 7 \ Lore: 6 \ Power: 7 (a bit over powered, but hey I'm still new at this)
Abilities: (Conferred) Armor \ Boost: Will \ Boost: Lore \ Cloak \ Fast \ Vitality
*note: this is the demon as I thought of it, any changes made are done by the GM
Appearance: A crudely shaped gold cross on a heavy gold chain.

Cross is meant to be a dual sorcery-aid / protection device. Based on the premise I figured that a demon of this type would be very good with a Desire of Knowledge, and the problems began when thinking up something for Need. In the end we decided that Cross needed to be read to, but only from Sorcerous text. At this time that's not too much of a problem as I have a fair library, but I can see in the future (when I run out of books) how this Need will drive me to seek out and obtain new tomes and what not to keep Cross happy.

Now this ended up in a satisfying solution for everyone, but most of the times this is not the case. I'll frequently tear through the creation of the demon on to sit for the next two or three hours trying to come up with that elusive Desire or Need.

Most likely this is because I'm not envisioning what this demons purpose exactly is. But I simply have a hard time getting past the trivial and into the sort of stuff that will really guide the game forward.
-Merrick