News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Edwardian premises ?

Started by Fabrice G., February 01, 2002, 03:47:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fabrice G.

Well i'm a newbie regarding premises.

I read a lot about it here on The Forge, but still, it's not that clear to me.

This morning i had some ideas about possible premises, and i would like to know if in your opinion they're premise as Ron put it or no, and why ?

For à CoC-like game:"Is the quest of knowledge worth madness ?"

For a Memento based game: "Is revenge worth the price of killing the wrong man ?"

and a though one "Is the curse of vampirism placing you abouve morality?"

Well these are exemples that came easely. But i don't know if theu're premise at all or just some questions.
Right now i feel this will greatly help me and the players focus on one particular theme for the story, so i think: " woa ! if they're not premise, think about what a good premise will bring to the game !!!"

Bye,
Fabrice.

Ron Edwards

Hi Fabrice,

I think the main thing is to recognize that Premise has FIVE meanings, nested inside one another in certain ways.

The most inclusive meaning is simple: "what interests me about this game."

The second meaning takes it to the act of role-playing: "what interests us about this game to the extent that we all want to play together."

The other three meanings, all nested on an equal level inside the second one, correspond to the separate concepts of Gamism, Narrativism, and Simulationism. Mike H did us a bit of a disservice with his term "Edwardsian Premise" - it was a joking way of saying Narrativist Premise.

Must run; more about that soon.

Best,
Ron

Mike Holmes

Mea Culpa.

But, in fairness, there has been some debate about the nature of Narrative Premises of late, and I wanted to indicate that I meant "Narrative Premise as Ron would have it". Once again in trouble for trying to use shorthand. Oh well...