News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Abstracted combat.

Started by myripad, August 04, 2004, 05:39:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

myripad

A friend of mine recently purchased the AD&D 3.5 PHB. He and the group he organized have asked me to run a game as I'm a fairly experienced referee. The problem is that I don't really like AD&D, and more importantly, I don't like abstracted combat.

I don't like abstracted combat because I find it impossible to describe what's happening in a battle when the rules are incompatible with reality. I know how innumerable things happen in each combat round that aren't explained by the rules, and I know that a single "attack" might be several little jabs, and that having a good "armour class" doesn't actually make you harder to hit, and that losing hit points doesn't mean that one's character is actually being physically hurt, and I know that the venerable warrior can't actually take more direct hits than the vigourous but inexperienced. Unfortunately, I'm not sure if I'd be able to explain all of this to a group of brand-new players, or even if I can deal with it myself.

Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm considering asking them to only use the AD&D books for inspiration and instead play a skill-based, less formal game. I do want to play with them, and I don't want to impose my "authority as DM" upon them, but I'm not sure how to reconcile my gaming style with AD&D. Should I even bother?
I could be wrong, or re-stating what someone else has already articulated.

Ron Edwards

Hi Myripad,

I took a few minutes to go back over your previous posts, to give me an idea of what sort of role-playing you did like, so check me on all of the following.

1. Friday Night Firefight (from first edition Cyberpunk) really floats your boat. I presume that certain aspects of RuneQuest, especially the Avalon Hill edition, would be good by you too.