*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2014, 01:26:26 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4283 Members Latest Member: - otto Most online today: 62 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 1 pt Inspiration  (Read 3005 times)
Grover
Member

Posts: 82


« on: February 15, 2005, 07:51:02 PM »

Are they worth anything?
Logged
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2005, 07:54:46 PM »

You can buy them up by spending an Action.  Until they're more than 1 they're useless.

If players have enough Inspirations that they aren't going to bother spending an action to bump a 1 to a 2 then I wouldn't even bother tracking them.
Logged

Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
Stickman
Member

Posts: 63


« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2005, 12:20:46 AM »

If  a character has a 5 point power / style, can they bump a 5 point inspiration to a 6? It seems from our play that a 6 point inspiration is something very special indeed, and is almost unstoppable in the right places (say, stake, split, roll, then bump to 6)
Logged

Dave
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2005, 06:03:58 AM »

Yes they can.  Yes, it's very effective, by design.

I will offer an alternate use, which I think is more powerful even than the "bump to seven or more" use:  a 6-point Inspiration spent on your one die in a Conflict you don't intend to win (i.e. "Meteor destroys the city") is a very good way to draw Story Tokens.  People have to Stake in order to beat it.
Logged

Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
Jonas Ferry
Member

Posts: 111


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2005, 12:10:48 PM »

Quote from: TonyLB
You can buy them up by spending an Action.  Until they're more than 1 they're useless.

I have lots of questions right now, since I want to be prepared for the first session. I hope it's ok. Do you mean that you can use an Action to increase Inspiration? Do you have a page reference for that rule? I don't remember reading it.
Logged

One Can Have Her, film noir roleplaying in black and white.

Check out the indie RPG category at Wikipedia.
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2005, 12:23:12 PM »

No sweat.   I totally sympathize with wanting to have all the answers when you start up the game.  

Inspiration-raising is a small "blink-and-you-miss-it" rule, and doesn't get much play in the Example of Play.  That's because it's for a different mode of scene (i.e. short, low-conflict scenes) than people generally start out playing.  

In the rules-system precis, on page 19, and again on page 38 (where that precis section is repeated) it reads: "The ability either raises an Inspiration by a point or rolls any one die on a Conflict."
Logged

Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
tigermuppetcut
Member

Posts: 3


« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2009, 06:31:16 AM »

I know this is a very old thread but can't you actually boost an inspiration up to a 7, since the power used in the action only needs to be AS HIGH as the inspiration it's raising rather than HIGHER THAN the inspirations initial value?
Logged
tigermuppetcut
Member

Posts: 3


« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2009, 08:00:10 AM »

Mind you that would mean marking the die with a token to show it was a 7 which I guess is against the rules, you must literally have to TURN the die to a higher side, limiting it to a 6.

I think I just answered my own question!
Logged
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2009, 05:25:43 PM »

I know this is a very old thread but can't you actually boost an inspiration up to a 7, since the power used in the action only needs to be AS HIGH as the inspiration it's raising rather than HIGHER THAN the inspirations initial value?
Well, if your character has a power of level 6 then yes, he can raise a six to a seven.

But if your character has a power of level 6 then you're not playing the game by the rules, so ... yeah.
Logged

Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!