*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 23, 2017, 04:25:36 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 151 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Drives Question  (Read 2222 times)
jburneko
Member

Posts: 1351


« on: March 10, 2005, 04:53:29 PM »

Hello,

When talking about building characters it says, "Take five Heroic or Villainous Drives" which is kind of confusing since there are only 5 heroic and 5 villainous drives to choose from.

Does this imply that it is within the scope of the rules (intent of the design) to mix and match heroic and villainous drives.  Could I create a character with Truth, Justice, Love, Obsession and Fear as my drives?  None of the example characters through out the book seem to do this.

That phrase about "Taking" drives seems odd to me.  If the intent is not to mix and match it seems it would be simpler to say, number THE five heroic or villainous (depending on the character) drives from 1 to 5 totaling 9.

Jesse
Logged
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2005, 07:57:26 PM »

My intent was to support mixing and matching.

At the same time, I wanted to make it pretty clear that once you've mixed and matched, you no longer have a character who can clearly be labelled either "hero" or "villain".

There's nothing wrong with that, so long as you do it consciously.

I need to make that text more clear and prescriptive in future editions.  It's bordering on an outright errata, rather than just poor expression.  

Thanks for the catch!
Logged

Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!