Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Started by daftnewt, October 18, 2008, 11:26:53 PM
Quote from: daftnewt on October 18, 2008, 11:26:53 PM1. Is it true in Dogs that if you Escalate, you don't have to See? If so, I'm wondering about the pattern this makes sometimes. Frex,-- You do a nasty Raise against me in Talking. I escalate to Physical; now I don't have to See and you lose those dice.-- It's my turn to Raise; I put my dice forward.-- You decide to escalate to Physical to match me; now you don't have to See, and I lose those dice.Is that right? Or does my escalation escalate the whole conflict, so that if you want to pass on that next See you have to escalate -again-?2. Related to that, a player was asking me if it was really true that if, say, someone shot at his character putting forward two 10's or something awful like that, he could choose to escalate to Talking to avoid any effect? I told him yes, and that meant people had to be a bit tactical with their dice, and not blow the big ones too soon
Quote3. Should a murderous attack that fails raise the Demonic Influence to "Hate and Murder"?
Quote4. I read a thread here that answered most of my questions about Relationships (yay!) but I'm still kind of wondering...does anyone else find character sheets cluttered with old Relationships after a while? Or players using some of those "useless" scores to soak up negative Fallout?
Quote5. Where do people stand on the idea of NPCs using conflicts to force actions on PCs? What about forcing beliefs on them ("There's nothing at all wrong here!")? What about PCs making other PCs agree or take action against the player's inclination?Vincent had an answer for this in the second part of my writeup, and I think it's a good one, but I'm curious what other people have to say.
QuoteI hope that's not true. I invented that rule for Afraid, a Dogs hack that hasn't materialized. I HOPE I didn't write it back into Dogs in the Vineyard. Did I? I don't have a book handy but I'll look it up when I get home - do you happen to have a rule quote or page reference for me?