News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

My First Game.... with no name.

Started by Andrew Cooper, June 06, 2005, 02:28:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andrew Cooper

Okay, I'm going to post my current Game Text in segments.  As the Subject says, this is my first attempt at game design so be gentle with the virgin, please.  On the other hand, all constructive critism will be well recieved.  

Oh yeah...  I really don't have a name for this ruleset and am drawing a complete blank.  Suggestions would be appreciated, if you have them.

Andrew Cooper

Truthfully, "Just because I felt like it." would probably be reason enough but it isn't a very interesting answer to the question.  While reading the many interesting threads over at The Forge, I ran across a suggestion by one of the posters (I think it was Ron Edwards but don't hold me to that.) that many neophyte game designers tended to take on projects that were just too damn big for their experience level.  These designers had this desire to create this perfect and innovative system that incorporated all these wonderful features but the design ultimately failed when the work ended up being far more complex and difficult than expected.  The suggestion was that all new designers would benefit from designing a few journeyman projects before trying their defining creation.  The lessons learned in putting together a simpler but workable system would pay off when trying to put together the larger project.  

This is my journeyman project.  It probably isn't hugely innovative.  It's probably not the next big thing in role-playing circles.  It's probably not going to supplant Wizards of the Coast or White Wolf as the big boys of gaming.  What it is, I hope, is a workable, playable and fun system.  Only time will tell if I succeed or not.

Andrew Cooper