News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[AD&D to D&D 3.5] A great 10 years of gaming

Started by Masada, June 28, 2005, 03:35:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Masada

After poking around in this forum, I felt like sharing by experiences with my favorite game group, some ideas why this group worked so well and a 'where are we now' summary.

In about 1991 I met a couple of guys that played in their basement.  They were in their 30's and had being playing since 1970.  The current campaign had been running for years.  The original group had been four members; a Mage, a Fighter, a Druid and the DM.  One member had dropped out before I met them (the Druid) and a second was a rare show (the Fighter).  I started playing in the group as a Psion.  The rules were new at the time and the DM wanted to see them in action.  The Mage was 16th level and I started at 1st.  This was all under the Advanced D&D 2nd Ed rules.

From the first session it was gold.  I loved it and played religiously with these guys every weekend (Saturday) for 5 years.  The Fighter came back to play regularly and the 3 of us played the same campaign the whole time.  I never caught up with them in levels, but never minded.  We ran the campaign to the "end of the world" and then started over with a Planar campaign for a while.  When 3.0 came out we started an entirely new campaign.  By this time we slowed our play time to once every other week or once a month.  3.5 forced a re-write but did not derail the campaign.  Throughout, we kept the same DM.

I have played with many groups since, but not as good as this group.  I also have maintained my friendships with these guys to this day even though I have moved 200 miles away.  I moved about 7 years ago, the group still plays about once a month--or at least did, until World of Warcraft!

Okay... what made this group successful?