News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

i need tons of help

Started by Dilan W., August 02, 2005, 11:25:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dilan W.

hey,

I am new at this and dont know how to start, i want to make a rpg for the internet. I already know what I want it to be about and i have played many rpg's before for example ultima Online, Horizons, Ever Quest, and Star Wars. I need help making everything, what i mean is how do i make the world and all the objects, people, setting. Plus i want it to be pretty big world. I have a friend how beta tested horizons and he is pretty smart, but he is out of town and i cant wait so, what programs do i need. so please help me and tell me any info that can help me. I have looked aroud the forums but most of it doesnt make any sense to me.

thanks, Dilan

Jack Aidley

Hi Dilan, and welcome to the Forge.

I have two pieces of bad news for you:

The first is that we don't really deal with computer based RPGs, or MMORPGs here - this site is focused on table top games.

The second (and I used to be a game programmer so I know something about this) is that the effort and investment required to make a MMORPG like the ones you mention is collosal. These things are created by teams of thirty, forty individuals working for two or three years. And the amount of capital involved in setting up the requisite servers is far from trivial. I've seen figures in the three to four million pound mark bandied about.

But, anyway, good luck.
- Jack Aidley, Great Ork Gods, Iron Game Chef (Fantasy): Chanter

Justin Marx

Hi Dilan,