News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Pool/Donjon Hybrid for D&Ders ?

Started by jaw6, July 12, 2005, 08:19:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jaw6

Not sure where to put this... Short-but-intense-time lurker, first-time poster... etc. And I do tend to ramble.

I'm new at this Narrativist thing - actually, I think I've always been a closet Narrativist --  but I think I want to try it out. I put in an order for Sorcerer at the FLGS, but while I wait, I was reading here, and got to thinking...

I think I could tempt my group (of casual D&Ders) into a night of creative-juices-flowing, shared-authorship fun with a Pool/Donjon hybrid. Use Donjon's sense of implied setting/premise/goal, with the rules-lite feel of The Pool. They are all gaming enthusiasts of one stripe or another, and they've followed me on a few D&D distractions in the past, but nothing quite as radical as letting players directly participate in a game. (I, not entirely knowing what I was doing, tried to do that with the last game of D&D I tried to run with them. It flopped initially, but after a few months with the characters, ended in a big moment of "now you take the wheel".)

Since I'm new to Narrativism, I was hoping one of the brighter spots here might could help me avoid walking into any gaping pits with this... here's what I'm thinking:

-   The set-up will be mostly old-skool D&D: You are going to explore a dungeon. I will describe the initial dungeon set-up (the "quest").

-   Players will describe their characters. Other players call out the Traits from the description, you pick a handful from these. I'm thinking of using high-roll on dice to determine who goes first (whether it's better to go first or not...?)