News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[Errata] Suggestions For Clarifications

Started by BeZurKur, August 02, 2005, 12:01:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BeZurKur

I'm new to the Forge and its ideas.  Capes is the first game I'm trying that puts the theories discussed here into practice.  As such, I think I was more prone to some misinterpretations about the rules.  Although Capes is well written, with my more traditional RPG background, some points were vague.  I am offering suggestions to particular areas that would have helped me understand more.  Most of these are trivial and can probably be made clearer by just adding a few words.  However, even the slightest doubt can change the interpretation of an otherwise clear rule.  I'll try not to include anything that has been mentioned before.  This is a long list.  I am just trying to be thorough and I don't mean anything by it.  Capes is an amazing game.

p. 21:  The second example has Alex declare first who he will play.  This is not consistent with neither the first example on the same page nor the diagram.  Either begin with Beth or mention that it is four scenes later.

p. 22:  Paragraph four mentions the use of markers to claim a side.  This is the only time that markers are mentioned in the rules, including page 15 under materials.  Either include markers as a material needed with the examples showing clear use of them or get rid of the markers entirely.  You can also opt to mention that players might prefer the use of markers, but be clear to differentiate between the markers for claiming a side and the poker chips.