News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Tell me about your most utter failure

Started by Frank T, August 18, 2005, 10:54:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frank T

Inspired by this post, I would like to talk about real messed up attempts to introduce new elements into your gaming. I hope that readers might benefit by avoiding the same mistakes.

Here is my story: I have this group I've been playing with since school, some 10 years ago. We used to play Star Wars d6. I was GM, most of the time. It was classic gaming, GM-driven, pre-designed plot, some elements of challenge along the way... and it was functional. Then I started reading about player empowerment, kickers and the like. Not on the Forge, not then. Just a few unrelated posts on my German board. And I stumbled across The Window, which fascinated me.

So I got my group to try something new, and why wouldn't they? They had always trusted me as the person in charge to provide for a good game. So I tried and started to explain what I was up to. Only I didn't know what I was up to. I wanted kickers, and wanted to improvise them on the spot. But I hadn't really understood what kickers were, never having read Sorcerer.

I also wanted "player empowerment", whatever that was. I wanted the players to introduce new setting elements and NPCs. Only I didn't know how. I figured they should just, y'know, somehow jump at the opportunity and start to pull some cool stuff out of the hat.