News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Indie Supplement Design (?)

Started by James_Nostack, September 07, 2005, 11:27:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

James_Nostack

For the past three years I had been running an IRC campaign based on TSR's Alternity game.  Now that the game has finished gloriously--thanks in part due to Forge peeps--I'd like to write up Setting and Style of play advice and post it to the lively Alternity fan community.  Hence this is not Indie Game Design per se, but sort of like Indie Supplement Design.  I hope this is in the correct folder.

I've never done anything like this before, so I'd appreciate advice.  What I envision is a poor man's version of Sorcerer & Sword which takes an existing game into new directions in terms of content and theme.

Usual Alternity Gameplay Paradigm - Heroes are intrepid space-bucaneers.  They fly to the planet of the week, zap some funky space aliens, and collect high tech gadgetry.  (The system allows for filing a lawsuit against funky space aliens instead, but it's essentially Buck Rogers/Flash Gordon stuff.)

The Style of Play I'd Like to Foster Instead - Heroes are political operatives/memetic engineers.  They arrive in an exotic community where futureshock technology has created conflicts reflecting the Human Condition in the post-industrial world.  Players end up taking sides, effectively saying, "This is what it means to be human.  This is how societies ought to operate."

Given that the system I'm using is fixed, how do I go about encouraging this kind of scenario preparation and play style?  My audience is a bunch of people who are not familiar with most of the Indie Gaming stuff.
--Stack

James_Nostack

Though not immediately relevant, here is my idea of a table of contents--