News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

The Anima Rpg, If it isn't a Heartbreaker how come it's breaking mine?

Started by b_bankhead, September 02, 2005, 01:20:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

b_bankhead

(before you click on the url below, you should know the little glowing jewel thingy operates the controls to turn off the sound)

http://www.animarpg.com/

I know this one isn't really a fantasy heartbreaker. I mean the people setting up the Anima rpg have too much money behind them.
But the Anima rpg breaks my heart. It reperesents a much greater loss of an opportunity.

I mean I really wanted to like this one, I'm an artist and a wannabee illustrator and I'm a sucker for lush visuals, and I was collecting manga when you could't get it in english. The Anima rpg looks like a real beaut, as pretty as the Metabarons game.
But I take the beauty in my arms and kiss her and horrors she is nothing but another rpg corpse tarted up with japanese art; a shambling Frankenstein stitched together from the leavings of somebody's rpg morgue.

"Anima: Beyond Fantasy offers players an original and innovative system that lends itself to players looking for non-stop action and those who are interested in interpreting a character and developing a story".

Lordy LORDY! How many time have I read prose like this on mimeographed efforts printed n somebody's basement? And here it is right on the website of a project that obviously has a lot of money behind it.
(And by 'lot' I mean by the standards of rpg publishing....)
"an original and innovative system", yeah right and I'm a goddamn Dutchman. Let's take a look at the character sheet the website offers:

http://www.edgeent.com/anima/en/pdf/anima_character_sheet.pdf

Oh my god.  This makes the character sheet from Aftermath look sparse.