News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Frustrating artist website

Started by Ron Edwards, September 09, 2005, 10:00:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ron Edwards

Hello,

This is a very specific question. I found an awesome picture on an artist's website gallery. Not only would I like to use this picture for an Adept Press publication, but the artist's work is generally so good that I'd like to strike up a project with him.

... all of which is easy as pie and I've been doing it for many years now.

Except that in this case, the artist's webpage consists of nothing except his logo and his gallery. No contact information, no email, not even his name! There's no way actually to open a dialogue.

As far as I can tell, this artist has not been featured in role-playing publications before and is just starting out. The webpage is clearly in development (e.g. one page is blank, awaiting uploads). Unless I miss my guess, we are looking at the classic talented D&Der whose work casually outstrips most pros, and who doesn't know much about marketing it. The kind of guy I like to work with, because doing a ton of stuff for indie games gets his name out there with some clout.

Grrr! It's very frustrating. I could simply wait and see whether the site gets updated with more information (when someone finally tells him, "Dude! Put your email on there!"), but I think we all know that might be tomorrow, or months and months.

Is there an easy solution that I don't know about? Is there some web-savvy thing in IE Options that "everyone knows" you just click on to find out what I want to know? I tried to see the source code, just in case, but it didn't work for some reason.

Don't bug me with obvious stuff. No, there is no webmaster link. There is nothing - just pictures and a couple of pages. He has his own domain name, though, it's not a geocities site or something like that.

Best,
Ron

Jason Morningstar