*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2019, 10:50:46 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 93 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Polaris "advantage" question  (Read 3693 times)
chris_moore
Member

Posts: 129


WWW
« on: September 17, 2005, 05:40:10 PM »

Hi,

I just got Polaris, and I'm BEGGING my friends to play it.  I have one question.  When does the Heart or the Mistaken "have the advantage"  during a conflict die roll?  I know you add Zeal or Weariness either way, but what consitutes the "advantage"?

thanks, chris moore
Logged

Iowa Indie Gamers!
Ben Lehman
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 2094

Blissed


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2005, 12:33:42 AM »

Advantages only apply in the context of die rolls.

If the Mistaken has the advantage, subtract Weariness from the challenge rating (if the knight has no weariness, do nothing.)

Likewise, if the Heart has the advantage, add Zeal to the challenge rating (if the knight has no Zeal, do nothing.)

Answer your question?

yrs--
--Ben
Logged

chris_moore
Member

Posts: 129


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2005, 04:41:09 AM »

My question is: How do you know when the Mistaken or the Heart has the advantage?

I must be missing something really simple.

thanks, chris
Logged

Iowa Indie Gamers!
Mikael
Member

Posts: 206


« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2005, 06:45:18 AM »

My question is: How do you know when the Mistaken or the Heart has the advantage?

I do not have the rules with me, and will thus take this excellent opportunity to confuse everyone with a guess based on half-remembered facts: the one who invokes "It shall not come to pass" has been pushed to a corner and, therefore, the other guy has the advantage.

(I would not have to guess if I had actually played the game. Alas, I am still trying to find a timeslot for just three players, and dreaming about four.)

Cheers,
Mikael
Logged

Playing Dogs over Skype? See everybody's rolls live with the browser-independent Remote Dogs Roller - mirrors: US, FIN
Ben Lehman
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 2094

Blissed


WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2005, 12:22:04 PM »

Mikael is correct.  The one who uses the "It shall not come to pass" phrase gives his opponent an advantage.

yrs--
--Ben
Logged

Sydney Freedberg
Member

Posts: 1293


WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2005, 07:29:01 AM »

(Prescript: Ben, I meant to PM you or something, but I got my copy, and, wow. I read some and showed some to my non-gamer wife, and she was all, "play this! play this!").

This has real strategic significance in the game, and I want to make sure I got this right. The effect of these rules is

IF Heart invokes "it shall not come to pass,"
THEN
- IF protagonist = novice, THEN protagonist gets no penalty
- IF protagonist = veteran, THEN protagonist gets penalty = weariness

IF Mistaken invokes "it shall not come to pass,"
THEN
- IF protagonist = novice, THEN protagonist gets bonus = zeal
- IF protagonist = veteran, THEN protagonist gets no bonus

If so, then this mechanic is designed to steadily erode a protagonist's chances of resisting unacceptable statements by the Mistaken over time -- correct?
Logged

Ben Lehman
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 2094

Blissed


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2005, 09:19:24 AM »

This has real strategic significance in the game, and I want to make sure I got this right. The effect of these rules is

IF Heart invokes "it shall not come to pass,"
THEN
- IF protagonist = novice, THEN protagonist gets no penalty
- IF protagonist = veteran, THEN protagonist gets penalty = weariness

IF Mistaken invokes "it shall not come to pass,"
THEN
- IF protagonist = novice, THEN protagonist gets bonus = zeal
- IF protagonist = veteran, THEN protagonist gets no bonus

Absolutely correct.

Quote
If so, then this mechanic is designed to steadily erode a protagonist's chances of resisting unacceptable statements by the Mistaken over time -- correct?

Not quite.  You have to consider it together with the steady increases in Ice and Light.  In short:

Beginning of story: Protagonist and demons must negotiate.
Middle of story: Victory without negotiations is feasible for both sides (although the nature of this can vary -- consider the 2 zeal, 2 ice, 2 light knight versus the 1 zeal, 4 ice, 1 light knight).
End of story: Negotiation is again necessary.

yrs--
--Ben
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!