News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[Shock 0.1.0] Brain jacks and naval plugs

Started by Allan, November 28, 2005, 01:46:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Allan

The Players
Allan - Serious sci-fi nut, hard-core gamer and designer, and recent narativist convert
Brian - Gaming again after a 10-year break.  Used to play CoC.  New to indie games.  Sci-fi fan.
Pierre - French indie game translater and designer.  Familiar with indie games and sci-fi.
Celine - French exchange student.  Pierre's girlfriend, not a regular gamer, she's sampled a few different games, and knows she prefers indies.  Not really into sci-fi. 

Brian and Pierre and I have been playing together for 3 months, alternating the new World of Darkness with one-shot sessions of weird little indies.  This was the first time Celine joined us.  Of the 3 new Forge games I suggested for playtesting, Celine chose Shock, because of the GM-less, open, collaborative style. 

Set-Up
Issues:  Retirement, Water Supply, Isolation, Drug Addiction
Shocks:  Space/Time Travel, Brain Implants, Resurrection, Aliens

Praxis Scales:  Legal/Illegal, Action/Negotiation

*Tagonists
(Isolation/Resurrection)
Protagonist:  Karim Jenkins (Celine) 10 yr old boy with a fatal disease wants to be Resurrected when he dies.
Antagonist:  Peter Krauss (Pierre) Resurrection Corp. CEO offers the treatment only for a high price, or to VIPs.

(Water Supply/Time Travel)
Protagonist:  Leroy Jenkins (Allan) Blue-collar time transporter dumps waste water in a prehistoric lake.
Antagonist:  Og (Brian) Neanderthal hunting the strange, stinking "lake-monster"

(Isolation/Brain Implants)
Protagonist:  Richy (Pierre) Brain Hacker investigating autonomous AIs, has lost any emotional human contact.
Antagonist:  The Isabella Virus (Allan) invades and destroys the personality of those who spend too much time wired into the net.

(Retirement/Time Travel)