News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

General Question

Started by lrojas, October 04, 2005, 10:38:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lrojas

Hi all,

I am designing a setting and mechanics to match but so far i am concentrating on getting the setting right. I woudl liek to ask for help/review of the setting per se but i am not sure if this is the right place ( i used to visit The Forge a long time ago  and it seemed the place then, now it looks more pro so i am not sure ).

If i am in the wrong place, seeing that you guys are all pro or semi-pro, i am just a hobbyist and so not sure worth of your time but perhaps this question can be asked, where can i go for help and discussion of my setting?

Thanks in advance,

Luis R. Rojas

Jasper

Hi Luis, and welcome.

First, we're all hobbyists here. Some of us have published games, yes, and some of them fairly successful too. But we're all "indie." We're all small press. So don't worry about the great gods of the Forge deigning to help you -- we're all in the same boat.

As for discussing setting...it depends on what you want to discuss. If you have a huge ream of information describing a fictional world, and you just want to show that to someone as fiction, then the Forge is probably not the place to do it -- though if you post in Publishing, you might ask for people willing to look it over for you. If, on the other hand, you want to talk about how your setting is going to make a great game, then that's fine. Really, setting isn't separate from rules. Both "mechanics" (as traditionally understood) and setting inform play. They both tell players what to do. So, if you want to talk about what players will do in your game, and how your setting will affect that, then go for it.
Jasper McChesney
Primeval Games Press

Andrew Morris