News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Baal and Easter Platte: Working up a planet-town

Started by Brendan, October 28, 2005, 04:55:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brendan

I've been wanting to play DitV for months, and my gamer friends got much more into the idea once I mentioned that we could play it in a Fireflylike setting (about which I read here, of course).  This is my first attempt at a Job / Town / Planet:  Let's Be Bad Guys, in Easter Platte, on Baal.

The Progression

Pride:  Len Sho, a reef miner on the water planet Baal, wins the Shinepenny lottery and buys a home on one of the planet's rare and valuable surfaces--Easter Platte.  Errol Wu, who ran the lottery as a scam, is forced to pay and hide the fact that he's gone bankrupt doing so.  The rich mine owners resent Sho's new money and want him and his crude manners off the island.

Injustice:  Twenty-year-old Brianna Donnell's little sister Lily was born with a genetic condition that makes her the equivalent of a constant burn victim.  Their parents, miner Sayle and seamstress Verdy, marry Brianna to Len Sho in exchange for money for Lily's medication.  With his beautiful new trophy, Sho starts trying to integrate himself into the rich mine owners' society.  They snub him.  His first wife, Mai, forces Brianna to work and live with their new servants. 

Sin:  Sho takes out his frustration by beating Brianna, and threatening to stop paying for Lily's medicine if she tells.  Mai is seduced by Errol Wu and becomes pregnant with his child (her first; Sho is infertile).  Brianna finds out and begins blackmailing her, first to get out of service, then for the money she can't otherwise access.

Demonic Attacks:   A storm tears up the reef-mining platform that Wu owns and where Sayle Donnell works, trapping him and fifty-two other miners under a collapsed platform with little air.

What They Want