News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[Magicians of England] Help me refine my challenge mechanic

Started by tonyd, November 09, 2005, 11:47:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tonyd

Hi All, I'm new to the Indie Game Design forum. Please don't go easy on me.

Magicians of England is a gamemasterless storytelling RPG set in a Victorian England where magic is real, but no one really knows how to use it... yet. The game has some similarities to Universalis, but the design goal is to enforce a little more control over how scenes are constructed. I'm shooting for relatively tight scenes with an intro, some plot twists, and a resolution. The rules govern who can narrate what types of things, when they can do it, and how to resolve disputes among the players.

A key peice is the idea of the plot twist. A plot twist is something that can be introduced into a scene to drive conflict. When all the outstanding plot twists are resolved, the scene comes to an end. The canonical example from the first playtest is this: a character is standing in an alley. He knocks on a door. Plot twist: the door is locked and he can't get in. The scene can't end until this is dealt with in some way.

My difficulty is in how to frame plot twists so that they are easy to set up and don't derail the game. I am familiar with (and admire) how Dogs in the Vineyard uses stakes to determine what happens. Everyone know what happens when the conflict comes to an end. However in Magicians of England, there is no gamemaster to act as adversary and set stakes that compete witht he players' goals. Instead I have a sort of collaborative bidding game where people compete to narrate how the plot twist plays out.

Some of my specific worries are:

• what if the plot twist isn't anything that anyone finds interesting, and they're inclined to ignore it