News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

the Dead: Rough Draft and Howdy!

Started by kregmosier, January 04, 2006, 01:51:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kregmosier

Firstly, long time lurker, first time long-poster...Howdy!  My name is Kreg and I've been playing role-playing games since 1979 when a friend and I pooled our allowances for the old D&D Basic Set box.

I think I'm finally ready to post my draft of the Dead up at the Forge.  I made myself a New Years promise that not only would I finish the game up this year, but that first I'd *gulp* post it to The Forge. 

The Dead is basically a simple game about "killin' zombies"...it has no grandiose notions of being much else.  However, the one cool little tidbit I wanted the game to absolutely have is the idea of Relationships.  Relationships are what really stuck with me when, during the review of Deadmeat here on the Forge, Ron said:

"I suggest that any further tweaking or work done with Dead Meat rely very heavily on that premise: "Given that all you know about death and life is wrong, and that you are in deadly, gruesome danger, isolated with people you neither trust nor would ordinarily like, what now matters most?""

man, that struck me hard, and yet It seemed so obvious...what matters most?  The Living!  The people around your character who she does trust and has formed bonds with in this horrible situation!  (or maybe i was completely wrong, but hey that's how my brain operates.)

A year or so later I read Issue #1 of "The Walking Dead" and I KNEW I had to write this game...

SO, here it is:  http://www.mosierworks.com/projects/theDead/theDead010306.pdf

Please (PLEASE) feel free to critique and offer constructive criticism.  I know the game doesn't add anything to the hobby necessarily, or break any new ground, but I'm perfectly content with that.