*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 06, 2019, 06:13:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 161 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Contain Question  (Read 3426 times)
Lisa Padol
Member

Posts: 365


« on: February 10, 2006, 05:48:23 AM »

So, Dave's character, Andreas, put a Possessor demon in a Contain. He instructed another Possessor demon, this one bound to him, to force a sedative down the throat of the demon in the Contain every half hour.

Dave confirms that yes, these were Andreas' instructions, and yes, Andreas was in a hurry and not thinking clearly, perhaps.

I am thinking that the only way for the demon outside the Contain to force a sedative into the one inside the Contain is for the demon to break the Contain. That about right?

-Lisa
Logged
James_Nostack
Member

Posts: 642


« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2006, 06:14:28 AM »

Contain's one of those rituals that means whatever you want it to mean, I think, and probably depends on your setting and the in-game context.  Maybe the ritual only meant to contain that one particular demon?  Or maybe Contain is like a roach motel--they check in, but they can't check out... so now the Contain is still intact but has two demons trapped inside?  I think it's pretty fluid depending on the game.  You might want to do what you propopsed, and if the player whines about it, say, "Hey, it's magic.  You gotta specify these things" to introduce the proper level of paranoia.

(I don't have my book with me so I am kinda making that up.  Someone correct me if I'm wrong.)
Logged

--Stack
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 16490


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2006, 06:17:58 AM »

Hello,

Spot-on correct, Lisa. One demon outside the Contain cannot physically make the demon inside it do anything.

James, Sorcerer rules are indeed customized by local look & feel, but they're not that fluid.

Best,
Ron
Logged
Mister Six
Member

Posts: 12


« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2006, 05:04:07 AM »

On pg 89 of the rulebook, it says "A given containment must be defined at the outset as general (applying to any demon) or specific (applying to a certain individual or type)." So if a contain is individually keyed to the demon trapped within it, why couldn't other demons pass the boundaries of the contain freely?

-Chris
Logged
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 16490


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2006, 07:10:45 AM »

Oops. The book wins.

Thanks Mister Six!
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!