News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[Charnel Gods] The Fall of Sarantium

Started by kalyptein, February 08, 2006, 08:22:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kalyptein

I posted a little about the initial work on this game some while back, but it was stillborn at the time.  Recently it got dusted off and last night we had our first (short) session.  This is my first attempt at doing anything with Sorcerer, or even particularly in the Nar vein.

The epoch is that of the Sarantine Empire (many details lifted from the pages of Guy Gavriel Kay's Sarantine Mosaic books).  Basically it is a faux-Rome/Byzantium in the last throws of decadence, with barbarians massing on the borders.  The game was originally conceived of as a con-game, so I came up with a set of pregen char concepts/Fell's Desires which the players would then flesh out.  The game is now being run as a weekly ~2 hour Skype (internet voice chat) session, but we decided to go ahead and work with the pregen stuff.

Characters

The General

• Tiberius - just returned from his glorious conquest of a distant nation; the toast of Sarantium.  He loathes the decadence, the fops, and the two-faced politicians and believes the only way to save the empire is for a hard-headed man of action to take control before its too late.  Among his obstacles is the the populace's belief in the divine bloodline of the emperors.
  • Zansatsu, Blade of Slaughter - the General's Fell is single-mindedly dedicated to slaughter.  Its Desire and every last one of its powers are to kill, kill, kill.  Its need is to be bathed in hot blood.  You get the idea.  With it, the General is pretty much unstoppable in battle, but he has no extraordinary aid in subtler matters.
  • Kicker - After showing his trophies to the adoring court, the Emperor requests that fascinating weapon (Zansatsu) as a gift to be mounted in the palace.

The Leper