News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

I'm a Literature student. I'm alowed.

Started by Lizbet, April 09, 2006, 10:27:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lizbet

Hey there. I'm something of a newbie here, so...yeah. New. Hai.

I was musing the other day about games and I had the notion of creating one based on the characters from William Shakespeare's play "The Tempest". Ignoring, of course, the language of the play (I'm not sure how many RPers out there are willing or able to play using on Elizabethan English.) I think the setting and the characters would make for some fun.

If you don't know the play, it goes a little something like this; Prospero, the Duke of Milan, falls into the study of Wizardry and withdraws from public affairs, leaving his brother, Antonio in charge of affairs. Never a wise move, especially not in Shakespearean tragedy, Antonio userps the position. Rather than kill his brother, he sets him and his young child adrift in the ocean. They land upon an enchanted Island, and Prospero uses his magical powers to take control of the island; enslaving two of it's inhabitants to be his aids.

The play opens about twelve years later when Prospero has one of his spirits whip up a great storm (or Tempest) to shipwreck a vessel carrying his brother as it passes by the island. Those who survive the wreakage are washed ashore, and they include not only the traitorous brother but also Alonso, the King of Naples, his son Ferdinand and his brother Sebastian. They all end up on different places on the Island, and from there Prospero begins to plot his revenge.