News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[TSoY] Troublesome first session

Started by Ricky Donato, May 04, 2006, 12:05:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ricky Donato

Hello, folks,

I'm pretty new to the Forge, so if I make a faux-pas, please let me know. I'm here to describe my first attempt at running TSoY. It fell flat and I'm trying to understand why.

General Questions
I have a few questions about TSoY that can be answered without reading my Actual Play, so I'll put them first.
1) The book talks about healing yourself (by spending Pool points) or someone else (with First Aid or Counsel). Can you do this during BDTP, or can it only be done after the conflict is resolved?
2) If the adventure lists Key Scenes, are these scenes that the characters are guaranteed to see? In other words, should the Story Guide manipulate things (overtly or covertly) to ensure that the characters see these Scenes?
3) If a character fails an ability check, can he try it again?
4) Should every ability check have consequences for failure, or is it fine to say that the failure consequences are simply "you don't succeed"?

Setup
We're playing Shadow of Yesterday (revised edition). Since this is my first time running the system, I decided to make it simple: I would not use any crunchy bits from the Near setting, although the color would still be there. This means that races like the ratkin would still exist, but they would be mechanically identical to humans, and human cultures would be mechanically identical to each other. I intend to introduce the setting in later sessions, but for now I wanted to keep thing simple.

The players are:
Ricky the Story Guide (that's me). I've been playing RPGs for 20 years, and it has been exclusively D&D (red box, 1st, 2nd, and 3.0/3.5 editions).