News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[DitV] Some observations about Haven Branch

Started by Claudia Cangini, June 17, 2006, 08:58:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Claudia Cangini

Hello, this AP post is about Haven Branch (posted in http://www.indie-rpgs.com/forum/index.php?topic=20149.0) which, incidentally, is the first Town I wrote for DitV.
The game lasted several evenings and it seems everybody had fun (I had for sure).

I hope some observations about our game could prove of some interest (Warning: the following contains information that should be avoided by those wishing to play Haven’s Branch)

- I’m really new to game mastering but have a theory about mastering DitV: the most important thing is a good knowledge of the starting situation, especially the part about history and personality of NPC. This town seemed to confirm my theory.
I have to premit I’m not so good at improvising, I’m more at ease when I come at the table with at least some plans.
Writing allows me to focalize my ideas and so I wrote quite a lot when preparing the branch. Especially Joshua’s history came out quite long. Rereading it I thought “I’ll probably never use it, but I needed it anyway to know how to portray him”.
Instead one of the players’s Dog, who has a trait of strong dislike of Mountain People, was very suspicious of him from the beginning and, before the play was ended she decided to question him thorougly about his past.
With some terse exchange an unexpected scene ensued ending with the Dog almost befriending Joshua.
It was a cool scene to see and it left me satisfied that my preparation proved useful.

- Also furthering my belief in the above theory is the fact that even the most stereotipical characters become more real when the players are confronted with simpatethic, believable NPC.