News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Rookie RPGer...?

Started by clair, July 08, 2006, 10:36:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

clair

[I know I'm probably pissing off all of the pros here... my apologies.]

I'm new to the whole serious RPG scene-- I've never been a hardcore player. The only real experience I've had occurred when my cousin finally got up from his computer for a drink, and I snuck on and continued his medieval fantasy play. I thought it was a bit odd, but fun nonetheless. Any suggestions? Should I wait it out and learn something here, or should I give up and get out of your way?

If anyone actually replies to this, it will be a small miracle... I hate being new.

clair

TonyLB

Well, there are certainly worse ways to get your footing in the hobby than to read some of the Actual Play posts listed here.  They may assume a couple concepts that are (from long practice) blind spots for us but confusing for you, but I expect most people would be happy to respond to private messages asking for a translation.

And, of course, you can get some people together to play a roleplaying game.  It's a fun way to spend an afternoon, and the actual experience of doing it will give you a solid grounding to discuss other people's experience.

All told, I imagine everyone's very happy to see you.  We do try to be an inclusive rather than an exclusive bunch of people, though some of the aforementioned factors (our blind spots, particularly) can conspire to make us intimidating by accident.

If you tell us a little bit about the types of games (roleplaying or otherwise) you like to play and the types of stories you like to tell and hear, that'd probably provide a good basis for people to suggest a first game or two for you to look at.  Meanwhile, welcome!  Make yourself at home.
Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum

Ricky Donato

Welcome to the Forge, clair!