News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Not so idle chat

Started by Jay Hatcher, June 21, 2006, 11:20:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jay Hatcher

Greetings everyone.  I'm new at the Forge and would like to pose a question I'm struggling with.  I've been working on a game design for many months now on and off, and while there are a several different issues I'm struggling with and would appreciate input on from this great community, the one giving me the most trouble design-wise at the moment is this:

I'm trying to create a table-top style system that would play well in a chat-based environment, as I've found very few real world examples of table-top translations to chat that remained effective and fun in the long term.  I apologize in advance for the length of this post.

A chat format presents several unique challenges:

1) Lots of new players will be showing up with some regularity unless everyone eventually decides the game is broken, incoherent, or ruined by a few players who have a different agenda from the majority and use whatever power they possess to intimidate others into leaving.  This includes but is not limited to the GM's or even the site owner.  Once word of this gets around the game largely ceases to attract players, save for those few who remain and their friends.  This may or may not stem from a feeling of particular players that "I want this to be for my table-top group and don't like interruptions from others."

2) The player base can potentially be much larger than a traditional table-top setting, although this can be mitigated somewhat by the use of separate chat rooms to essentially run multiple games simultaneously.  Because of 1 above, many of these players are often new to the game and initially strangers.