News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Running game sans rule book

Started by Hegar, July 20, 2006, 03:10:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hegar

Ok, so I don't have the Sorcerer book, I can't afford it at the moment, but it just seems to cool to not run. So I've looked at the apprentice version of the rules, and spent ages reading through these forums, and I'm going to try it anyway. I've never tried a narrativist game before, but was aware of some of the basic concepts before i started looking into sorcerer.
Another thing I'm going to do which may be a no-no is give the players characters (tailored to what i know of their like and dislikes in characters). Also, the plan was to make it a kind of one shot, probably spanning a single 6-8 hours session.

I thought i'd post some of what I'm planning and see if i could get some advice or criticism.

Setting: A fantasy world in which the players have been in before, but set in a 19th century-esque time peroid. Social movements arise that will eventually grind down the last of the great imperial and religious powers, while said power continue their 'Great Game' against a backdrop of towering neo-gothic architecture. The sorcerous element was going to be run with a kind of illuminati flair. The traditional sorcerous groups – black wheel, dark lady, athanian league (kind of catholicy group who are certain their demons are angels, and are trying to get rid of the evil demon worshippers and/or make life better for people) and a number of smaller folk-tradition type groups – try to manipulate power and pull strings from the shadows. Lately though, radical groups who shun the formalised rituals have been gaining more power, demon weilding bankers, lawyers, rabble rousers and drug users. The old gaurd needs to decide whether each other or the new kids are more dangeous.