News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

We played last night, and had a blast!

Started by Jaif, May 05, 2002, 05:48:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jaif

That's the first time my regular group has stayed up to 3am playing an RPG in a long time.  We had a blast.  I'm not going write up the whole thing - there's just too much backstory I'd have to put down as well.  I'll say this:

1) I'm new to Riddle, and a bit rusty in general, but the game still went very smoothly.  I'm happy with system overall.  All of the non-combat stuff went very well, and our poor & ugly PCs were suitably punished<g>.  

2) The hardest part of adjudicating combat, for me, was shifting the time scale.  In the time a player took to sneak around a house, someone could fire a number of shots and a melee would be long, long over.

3) The optional rules I proposed in other threads worked well:

a) Using Perception/Battle to slow down combat sequences went nicely.  Characters discovered this strange human device known as "the neck", and often spent several seconds looking around to see what's happening.  I didn't toss it in all the time, just when time was a real factor.

b) I threatened to give a die to the defender for repeated attacks to the same zone, and players stopped always attacking the same spots like they always did in our mock combats.  It's not a perfect solution, but if felt right to us.

c) I made characters in most situations roll Willpower/Battle to attack, rather than simply picking a red die.  It actually didn't make a difference (only one person, an NPC, didn't make it), but it didn't interfere either once we actually did it once (right, willpower, hang on...).