News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

(RPG Layout) Questions on layout for 6"x9" format

Started by baron samedi, August 25, 2006, 01:14:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

baron samedi

Hello Forgers!

I am looking for the advice of people who have some experience with layout for RPGs or books in 6"x9" format. I'm an amateur at doing layouts, I'm a writer first and foremost. I'm translating a French RPG to English. Right now, I'm in the process of thinking of the layout of the English version with pictures, borders and all. My French version is in A4 format, but English-language global distributors only accept 6"x9" or Letter format. Global distribution is a significant factor for me, so it will either be 6"x9" or 8"x11" (Letter). I wanted a change from Letter, so I tried to do something in 6"x9" format. This format is new to me.

I've made an early draft in PDF (6"x9" format) you can check out here:
http://membres.lycos.fr/aixenforet/lcoe-p1-3.pdf

Here's my problem: I'm not sure at all it's aesthetic, pleasing to the eye, easily readable, i.e "professional". I wondered what the professional standard was for this format, as I'm learning layout "by the road". I have seen very few RPGs in 6"x9" format, none with two columns and border images up and down, so I have little comparisons to gauge the results.

I am especially wondering, from a professional perspective:

2- Does image placement pose a problem because of these two columns, i.e. are they "crushed" too much?

3- Do my borders (up and down), designed for A4 format, devour too much of the pages in 6"x9" format?

4- Are the title fonts different enough in size and type (bold/not bold) to be obviously different?

5- How could I aesthetically graft a cover image designed for A4 format (i.e. tall and narrow), all-encompassing to make it fit a 6"x9" format? If I'd use borders on left and write to compensate the lack of width, would it look "broken"?