News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[TPK] The Isle of Nightmares

Started by greyorm, September 30, 2006, 05:19:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

greyorm

As mentioned over in the AP thread, I need to develop an island for the kids to play through. This is my first attempt at such a thing, so any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

Basically, we have a world with a lot of seaside action -- mainly for my daughter -- giant intelligent animals, and common use of fire magic. Probably has a strong Celtic flavor.

DESCRIPTION

The Isle of Nightmares wasn't always. It used to be a beautiful grassy isle famous for its blue skies and unique pottery, fired from rich clay dug from deposits in a canyon at the base of a lonesome, wooded mountain near the isle's center.

Today, it rains almost constantly and no one goes outside unless they have to, and never at night. Everyone is afraid of meeting the Wytchthing. Ships have stopped coming to the island's one port because there is no pottery to trade, and because of terrifying rumors about what happens on the island at night.

For some reason, everyone who sleeps on the island suffers from terrifying nightmares. People don't want to sleep anymore. This makes them cranky and angry, and they can't think straight. Everyone blames the evil wizard who lives on the mountain.

-----

Ok, I tried to figure out what was what here, trouble-wise, but I can't fathom how to split these things up. So here's the situation I need some help with:

The canyon from which the islanders retrieve the clay for their pots is considered sacred ground by the mountain's animals. The islanders used to be respectful of the canyon and mined as little clay as possible for their needs, but Derrick -- the tribe's head potter -- decided the old rules don't apply to his clay miners anymore.