News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

History, Dream, Time, Hope, Confusion, Despair, Enlightenment, 3-19 & Thanks

Started by abjourne, September 01, 2006, 01:54:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

abjourne

I started playing D&D (blue & red) way back in 6th grade. I remember playing with the Caves of Chaos pull-out cover map sprawled out on the table as I read room descriptions to my friends as they drew all over the neat little book cover indicating where their adventurers went killing everyone & taking everything. That was fun. I played that game for quite a few years, until I realized something was wrong?

In spite of all the revisions & additions TRS and latter WOTC offered, the game still lacked sustenance. So, what did I do? Change of course, I altered rules, tried different games, nothing. One day I was going thru some old dragon Mags reading articles about what the game was about. Mostly it was just the designer making up excuses about why he couldn't accomplish this or that within the context of the game. Then I read the statement that ultimately lead me here today, "Those who insist on altering the framework (of a game's rules) should design their own game. Who can say that such an effort might not produce a superior product? Certainly not I."