News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Formulating A starting Point

Started by DigitalDevilDog, August 30, 2006, 12:45:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DigitalDevilDog

Hello everybody. Im not saying Im new to the gaming industrie, namely tabletop gaming, but I am how ever still green when it comes to game design, which is why Ive managed to turn up here, in hopes of getting more ideas and feedback to use in order to get my game idea up and going.

I cant say I have a whole lot of things written down for it already but I do have a few ideas Ide like to share of this game. First off the genre of the game is more or less a combination of Cyberpunk/Fantasy, in the sence that in my game there are elements like power armor and mecha and people who are able to use forms of magic, essentially its like the Xenosaga Series. I know for a fact that I'll want the character classes to have their own specific skill sets and the like, but Im condiering having a unilateral skill set with survival skills, entertainment skills, etc. Im also trying to figure out how to best impliment a magic skillset.

Also, I dont have much for the world exactly, but It is taking place on what we call Earth. There still remains some of the countries and continents although some may have been turned into deserts due to war and planet decay. Interplanetary Travel doesnt exist yet but the government and certain contractors have been working on it secretly for years now.

I know its not much to go on but this is all I can come up with on my own right now. Im not even sure what type of system I want to incorporate into it, be it like d20 style or Shadowrunstyle, or even the style used by Paladium games like Rifts or Robotech. Please give me as much advice as you can give, and I apologize ahead of time if I posted this in the wrong area.

Troy_Costisick

Heya Devil Dog,