News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[HeroQuest] Lifting the Veil

Started by Web_Weaver, September 21, 2006, 12:23:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Web_Weaver

No, strike that, I have been mulling over this since I sent the last post, and I have fallen foul of something that I often warn others of.

I am a trainer of adults by trade, and I think I am attempting to coach my players in how to play my game. This is not only a bad idea, it is just plain wrong. I am treating the players as people who need to learn by my example instead of people who are fully capable of learning by exploration.

So I should just do option three, as it isn't my job to dictate play style, it is simply my job to present the dramatic situations and smooth over differences in play for the benefit of everyone.

That make more sense?

Web_Weaver

How to tie a knot in three easy stages
or How not to play HeroQuest
[/size]

Step One
First lay out a piece of string, making sure there are no tangles.

HeroQuest is essentially a simple game, you narrate until a conflict occurs, you enumerate the goals of that conflict, roll dice to resolve the conflict, use this to work out the consequences of the conflict, then narrate the outcome of the conflict.

Step Two
Loop the string

What I did was fine until the dice roll, but instead of just working out the consequences, I applied what should have been a transparent technique, then drew attention to said technique and stated it was cool. I then stopped the scene dead.

Step Three
Push one end of the string through the loop such that it is caught in it

A few days later a player asked "why was that technique cool, you didn't get to narrate the outcome", but all I heard was "why do you consider that cool when I don't".

Step Four
Pull both ends tight