News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Stats, cards, and the gauges who love them.

Started by cottc cid, November 28, 2006, 05:06:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cottc cid

Hello all.  I am an amateur game designer, and a friend directed me to your site.  I think that it is great that there is a resource for people to converge on game design, because it is a tough subject that there is no training for.  I have a little design experience under my belt (2 games finished, 3 in the playtesting stage, and innumerable false starts, like half of America) but my previous attempt at an RPG fell totally flat.  Recently, I have realized how desperately I have wanted to write my own RPG, because all the ones that I have played have fallen short in some key area. 

I started with these principles, that I have gathered from previous attempts:

1.  Fun.  The obvious thing to begin with, but it has several meanings.  Try to avoid complicated rules that involve either arguments or look ups.  Let the players affect the outcomes of events (IE don't just roll a die to see if the villain spontaneously dies).  Discourage power gaming, because everyone wants to feel that they can do things.
2.  Explosive moments.  The every day happens... well, everyday, but everyone remembers that one time where the impossible happened.  Allow for incredibly unlikely events to happen on occasion, because people love the spectacular events.  Open ended dice are a great way to do this.
3.  Consistant gameplay.  Explosive moments will get people to remember your game, and fun will draw them back, but the best way to keep them in the long run is consistant, balanced gameplay.