News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

the hard facts about art!!

Started by BillT, November 22, 2006, 03:01:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BillT

Hello Artists, my name is Bill,

I am placing this topic here where I believe it will have the most relevance and impact.
I am a game dev and I have been monitoring the forge for some time now and I have yet to see what I am looking for but I still hold out hope. I have noticed that there are a lot of artists that post that they are professional illustrators (some with degrees) and want to get paid for their work and efforts. I can understand this opinion, most artists think their work merits money, but to be realistic here, I have been a game dev for almost 30 years and been employed by a brand name gaming corporation and I can tell you this. There are two things that sale a Role-playing game (which I will state later in this letter). And likewise, any green, or slightly new artist (meaning unknown) looking to break into the business needs to be top notch and willing to work freelance and on a pay-of-publish rite (meaning that the artist gets paid if and when the role-playing game sells). Once the art has proven it's self as a bankable entity then the artist can set his demands and expect to get paid, anything less than this is a true pipe dream, and an adoration of reality.
1st is the cover art, if the art is sub par then the likelihood of a potential customer stopping and picking up your book to look at it, not for purchase, but to look at it drops by a margin of 85%, and that's if they even notice the book do to its inability to catch the eye. Art is the 1st seller and as human beings we tend to buy based on looks (if something looks cool, we buy) before we consider just how good a product is or what it contains inside.