News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Armor encumberance & shields

Started by Jaif, May 27, 2002, 12:35:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jaif

A couple of things seem a bit "off" to me about armor and shields.  Note that I have limited experience here; I have worn a chain shirt, and I have played with a shield against foam covered swords and such, but it's not really an area of expertise for me.  So, this is based on a small amount of real world play with some of that crappy "intuition" stuff along with some suspect "book lernin". :-)

Armor

The armor encumberance values seem high to me.  A person wearing chain, a pot helm, and carrying a round shield will lose around 4 dice from their combat pool.  If we take a typical soldier w/10 CP (reflex 5, prof 5), that's a loss of 40% combat value.  Now I grant that armor really helps to protect that person, but it does so at such a severe loss of initiative that I wonder.

In my limited experience, and in my general reading, armor should not be that debilitating.  Sure, if you put a suit of armor on you're going to be less adept than without it, but we're also talking about people who presumably trained in their armor until it becomes a second skin.  I have a few incomplete thoughts to "resolve" this issue:

1) The penalty should not be to the CP; instead, the penalty should be to the activation cost of certain manuevers.  For example, evasion, grappling, feints, and so on.  The basic bash/cut/thrust/block/parry should work fine.  In other words, armor cuts down somewhat on flexibility & mobility.

2) The penalties should be based in some part on attributes.  For example, you lose an extra die for every level of str below 5 if you wear plate armor, while an end of 5+ reduces the encumberance.  A strong, durable person shouldn't have as much trouble wearing armor.