News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Look, Ma, I'm a Newbie

Started by Thayne, January 01, 2007, 12:03:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thayne

Hello all, I don't see a place for first posts, so I'm just going to grab a spot right here.

I'm a site owner of myrealms.net and I was drifting through the internet looking for a cached copy of my site when I happened by Musings and Mental Meanderings and he mentioned my site in his pages. I was reading through the author's various thoughts and The Forge was mentioned as well. So, I thought I'd check ya'll out.

It's interesting, stumbling upon this site at the end of a hectic year at myrealms. I've been spending quite a bit of time in contemplation lately on what my site needs to grow, and how to keep the interest of play by chat rp alive in this age of MMORPGs.

I look forward to reading through your forums and hopefully contributing as well.

Ron Edwards

Hello, and welcome to the Forge!

There actually isn't any place here for introductory posts, but we can make this thread a good start for you anyway, if you're interested.

The first thing is that most of the games being designed and discussed here are table-top, face-to-face role-playing. That's not 100% exclusive, though, and we've had some good contributors from chat-game designers before. I only ask that you focus on issues of play and design which are at least relevant to face-to-face play, if only by comparison.

The second thing is that this forum, and the site in general, concern play and design. If you're currently figuring out something to do with how the actual game-play functions (not software, but rules/people), then tell us about it here. I also encourage you to write about an instance of actual play, any at all, in the Actual Play forum.

Best, Ron

Thayne

Gotcha.